For the last few years, I have primarily written short stories, and, correspondingly, now read more short stories in magazine and anthologies than I read novels.

Recently I read two mystery stories from respected sources that left me mystified and not in a good sense. I was addled, wondering what the story was about.

The first was by a writer I greatly admire and whose work I have enjoyed. But when I finished this particular story, I was confused about what had happened. The story involved some confusing flashbacks, and I blame my befuddlement on that. I checked back over the story, trying to make sense out of it. I couldn’t. I had no idea of what happened in the story and why.

 The second story was by a writer who was new to me. The story was well written and enjoyable until I came to the end and had to ask myself, “What happened?” This story was only a few pages and I was able to completely reread it. My reaction was the same. What was this story about? What point, if any, was the writer trying to make?

My quandary is, whose fault is this? Me for not paying close attention; for being distracted during reading— (and I admit, I am easily distracted. When I was young, I could read a book in a crowded room while the television was blaring; now I can’t even have a background radio on). Is it my fault for not being smart enough to follow what was happening?

Or is it the writer’s fault for not being clear in the writing?

Or is it the editor’s fault for not correcting confusing errors and making sure the story made sense from start to finish?

My initial thought is that it’s my fault. I admit, I’m not as sharp as I used to be. And on the other side you have the writer and the editor and probably several second and third readers, all of whom passed the story up the line.

I don’t know.

I strive to be crystal clear in my own writing, but I have had people ask me, “What happened at the end? Who was the mystery woman?”

I don’t know. Whose fault is it?